SMTC Tuesdays!

SMTC Tuesdays!

Shrewsbury Musical Theatre Company are delighted to announce two new incredible value Tuesday evening offerings.......open to both our members and the wider community!

It's a fantastic opportunity to come and get involved with SMTC for those who are unable to commit or not sure about doing a full scale musical and for our members it's a chance to do something a little different and to upskill.

Musical Glee with SMTC

Following on from our success singing at numerous events over the past few years SMTC are delighted to set up an events singing group. We will be focusing on bringing songs from the musicals to the masses at Shrewsbury Pride and Oktoberfest and more if we can!

There will be opportunities for soloists and backing singers alike to be involved, we offer a very informal, fun and social setting.

Our first session on Tuesday 25th June @ 7:30pm is free (so please come along and see if it's for you!) after this there will be a further 11 sessions running until December, as ever we have kept the fees to partake as low as we can, so for the full term we are only asking for £40 (can be paid in 2 instalments)

The sessions will run from the Darwin Community Centre on Frankwell (next door to the Little Boro Chip Shop)

Register your interest below

SMTC Tuesday’s - Musical Glee with SMTC
Please register your interest to join our bi weekly songs from the shows event singing group and get your opportunity to sing with SMTC at this year’s Shrewsbury Pride, Oktoberfest and Orbit Rocks (Wellington) events (and hopefully more!) Practice will take place at the Darwin Community Centre on Frankwell (next to the Little Bore Chip Shop) from 7:30-9:30pm on the following dates Tuesday 25th June Tuesday 9th July Tuesday 23rd July Tuesday 6th August Tuesday 3rd September Tuesday 17th September Tuesday 1st October Tuesday 15th October Tuesday 29th October Tuesday 12th November Tuesday 26th November Tuesday 10th December This will be classed as term one, it costs just £40 to be involved (just £3.33 - per session) and includes a free cuppa :-) Your first session on the 25th June is free, come along and see what it’s all about, fees can be paid either in full or via 2 instalments. There is no limit on spaces for joining with us however the events we sing at may have restrictions on numbers, we will however endeavour to ensure everyone gets their moment to ‘shine’

Learn to Tap with SMTC

In order to upskill our members and the general public we have decided to offer a great value tap class run by the very impressive Lisa Hannaford, this will be on the opposite Tuesday to Musical Glee with SMTC and will run from the Sundorne Youth Centre studio, 218 Sundorne Road, Shrewsbury, SY1 4RG from 8:15pm.

Sessions will generally last 1 hour (first few may be slightly longer, tap shoes are not required for session 1).

First session is Tuesday 2nd July and you must be signed up and paid in advance, fees for 12 sessions are £36 (just £3 per session). Places are limited to 18 on a first come first served basis, priority will however be given to those people wishing to perform in next years production of Stepping Out (which requires 9 female and 1 male trained tap dancers!)

Register your interest below

SMTC Tuesday’s - Learn to tap with SMTC
Please register your interest to join our bi weekly beginners tap class, with our upcoming production of Stepping Out (where the ability to tap is crucial), we felt it really important to upskill our members and also offer a great value learning opportunity to our community. These classes will be run by the very experienced Lisa Hannaford who has run dance schools in both Birmingham and Telford. Classes will take place at the Sundorne Youth Centre studio, 218 Sundorne Road, Shrewsbury, SY1 4RG from 8:15-9:15pm (the first few lessons may run for 1 1/2 hours) on the following dates Tuesday 2nd July Tuesday 16th July Tuesday 30th July Tuesday 13th August Tuesday 27th August Tuesday 10th September Tuesday 24th September Tuesday 8th October Tuesday 22nd October Tuesday 5th November Tuesday 19th November Tuesday 3rd December These classes are extremely good value at just £3 per session, total fee for all sessions is £36 payable in advance or at the first session. Places are limited to 18 people and offered on a first come first served basis, we are however keen to ensure those who wish to be a principal lead in Stepping Out are involved (so priority will be given) There are tap roles for 9 female and 1 male in Stepping Out (one of which must be extremely proficient - the teacher)